2 years of losing and finding you, Baba!

Just took a phone call for me to know, I wouldn’t see you ever again.

No. Not really. It struck me much later.

I still have to re-iterate it to myself, there isn’t any room in any house, anywhere in the world where I can find you.

As I would walk into that room, one thing I would be sure of was to find you there.

Circa 2010

Not anymore.

Saying not anymore can be painful or liberating. Like it is now for me. I’m in pain and pain-free at the same time.

2023 was more difficult without you. But, I also turned it into one of my most productive years in the recent past. I took up new challenges, started learning new things, went to new places and tested my limits. There was a sort of rush that took over me. As if an impending loss compelled a flurry of tasks demanding my attention.

Whatever it is, I miss you. Beyond words.

But, I also learnt to find you close and say hello to you now and then.

In the absence of a room, somewhere in this world, where I could find you, I’ve fashioned a surrounding that echoes with your essence. We exchange smiles, a simple yet powerful way of assuring each other that we’re both here, present in the moment.

Pune, 2013

Leave a comment